Koolance PMP-500 Pump

Posted: December 13, 2012 in Pumps
Tags: , , , , ,

Welcome to my review of the Koolance PMP-500, a new monster pump from Koolance with really impressive pressure specs.    I was instantly interested in getting my grubby little hands on one of these ever since I saw it come out just a couple of months ago.  Pumps and hydraulics has always been more fun for me than thermal testing, so I was naturally interested in this new beast of a pump.  While we do already have several great options, the competition between pumps is somewhat limited compared to other water-cooling products.  This one per the specs looks very interesting, so the question is, how does it size up in terms of size, pumping power, cost, and noise relative the other popular options like the PMP-450.

A special thanks to Tim from Koolance for sponsoring the parts used in this review.

KoolancePMP500-01

Manufacturer Description & Specifications

The Koolance PMP-500 offers a high flow rate and very high static head pressure at just 12V. A mounting bracket is included.

  • Maximum Flow Rate: 16L/min (4.2 gal/min)
  • Maximum Head Pressure: 7.5m (24.6ft)
  • Motor: Brushless DC
  • Power Consumption (at max): 32W
  • Voltage Range: 6 to 12 VDC
  • Maximum Temperature: 60°C (140°F)
  • Electrical Connector: 3-pin fan header with tachometer speed signal
  • Hose Connections: G 1/4 BSP Threads
  • Noise: Less than 50dBA
  • Weight: 454g (1lbs)

Please note, the CTR-SPD12X2 and TMS-205 are unable to support this pump due to power constraints. For compatible speed control theCTR-SPD1224 is available.

General
Weight 1.20 lb (0.54 kg)
Dimensions 2.80 x 2.40 x 2.40 in (7.11 x 6.10 x 6.10 cm)
Pumps
Max Flow Rate 16L/min (4.2GPM)
Max Power 32W
Max Static Head 7.5m (24.6ft)
Max Temperature 60°C (140°F)
Native Hose Connection G 1/4 BSP Threads
Speed Knob
Tachometer yes
Type Magnetic Centrifugal
Voltage 6-12 VDC

So, the specs are mighty impressive for sure in terms of pressure head.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Comments
  1. Kevin Hua says:

    Finally, a pump that has dethroned the ddc series in all aspects! Nice testing Martin, I’ll be sure to pick up this pump! Maybe a custom pcb can lower power draw/noise… It’s using the old style transistors for power.

    • Martinm210 says:

      Yeah, if noise can be reduced via PCB and motor controller upgrades to say less than 40dbA max and a comfortable like tone that blends/hides well in your typical fan noise, that would be sweet. Add PWM to that and you would have one hard to beat little pump..:)

  2. nleksan says:

    So glad to have you back!!!!!!!!!!

    You are truly a pillar of the water cooling community, and if it weren’t for yourself and the few like you who have been so incredibly dedicated to scientifically analyzing and reviewing anything and everything water cooling, it’s quite likely that the hobby would still consist of a lot of non-modified aquarium pumps, semi-custom “water blocks”, and heater cores! I realize that you are a humble man, but take a moment to recognize the immense contribution you have made to “PC Water Cooling” as a whole, and if you’re ever nearby I’ll buy you a beer, hell, I’ll buy you a keg!

    • Martinm210 says:

      🙂 … Thanks!! and Cheers!!

      • Cole Markusen says:

        Not a problem. Might have to step up and buy one of Koolances controllers. The tone/pitch is almost unbearably annoying after long periods of time. Obviously the controller won’t get rid of it but lessen the severity a bit. Any idea what kind of components those controllers use? Would hate to have the same noise issue as the fan controller.

  3. Hi Martin,

    I lost my rubber washer (https://martinsliquidlab.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/koolancepmp500-16.jpg)

    I would like to know if my pump will get flooded or I can run the pump without.

    Thank you,

  4. Hi Martin, I just had a failure on my power supply just 20 minutes after starting my system with a PMP-500, an ATI 7870 and a FX-8350 oced to 4,6ghz, my power supply was a corsair GS700 with a single 12v rail of 56A, can you tell me what power supply should I buy to move all this without problem? Thank you!

    • Martinm210 says:

      I have had good luck with my TX650 and a single 570gtx card and hot hexacore, but I’m not up to speed on what the latest cards are drawing. I would plug it all into one of the online power calculators and base it on that. I would also check reviews on newegg on any model you are looking at and watch for how many bad reviews there are.