i7-3930K CPU XSPC Raystorm Copper

Posted: March 12, 2012 in Blocks
Tags: , , , , , ,

Welcome to the another Raystorm test, this time the all metal premium Raystorm Copper block on my new 3930K processor.  The Raystorm turned out to be an excellent performing block in both 2600K performance and restriction, yet there was only an acetal top with acrylic hold down version until now.  The copper top is the same high performance design constructed out of more durable metal materials.  I tend to personally favor the use of metal top blocks myself too, so when XSPC asked if I would be interested in reviewing a copper top, I was happy to accept.

Before reviewing, I’d like to give special thanks to Paul from XSPC for sponsoring this sample product!

Features/Specs

First, let’s look at the manufacturer’s specifications:

Special edition all copper waterblock with a CNC cut aluminium bracket. The best performing CPU waterblock just got better.

– Designed for Multi Core CPU’s
– High Performance Copper Base 56x56x3mm
– CNC Cut Copper Top
– CNC Cut Aluminium Bracket
– G1/4″ Threads
– Compatible with Most Compression Fittings
– Supports Sockets LGA775, 1156, 1155 and 1366

Supplied with mounting hardware, 775, 1156/1155, and 1366 backplates,
allen key, and K2 thermal paste.

Of special note is the CNC Cut “Copper” top and “Aluminum” bracket.  The original Raystorm is made from plastic acetal/delrin and acrylic for the bracket (hold down).

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Comments
  1. paulkon says:

    I see that you haven’t reviewed the Koolance 380I block yet. Would you mind telling me if you agree with this data I found here: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1708036&page=4
    I’m trying to figure out if this data still applies today and the 380I is still the best block. Thanks!

    • Martinm210 says:

      While there will always be some differences between reviews due to block sample and processor shape variances. That is extremely good testing so yes I would trust it. I would have to start over if i wanted to do cpu block testing since I moved and rebuilt my rig.