Swiftech MCP35X-HS DDC Heatsink

Posted: June 6, 2011 in Pumps
Tags: , , , ,

This is a continuation in evaluating ways to cool our popular DDC series pumps.  While requesting a sample of the Apogee XT CPU block, Swiftech offered to send me a sample of their newly released heat sink the Swiftech MCP35X-HS.   A special thanks to Stephen & Gabe from Swiftech for providing the sample to review.

As part of my pursuit to better understand heat within these pumps, I previously completed the DDC3.2 Heat Scoping blog to prepare for testing such as I’m doing here with this heat-sink.  This heat sink is compatible with any DDC series pump that has two holes in the base.  This includes both bases with cast feet as well as the newer bases that come without the spread foot base.  The heat sink is intended to serve in both cooling capacity as well as pump decoupling for improved noise response.

Packaging & Accessories

Being a heat sink, the parts are fairly basic and limited.  The package comes in Swiftech’s typical black box with a white printed label.

Upon opening the box, the heat sink itself is wrapped in a layer of paper that is also wrapped in a bubble wrap bag.  Everything else is nicely put away in individual bags.

Taking everything out of the protection bags reveals the contents as you can see below:

In the above photo, the blue thermal pad is to the left, lower left are the lifting legs (foot post), lower middle are the rubber feet that attach to the base of the legs(rubber bushings), and the lower right are the four machine screws that attach the rubber bushings to the foot posts.  The two remaining screws are used to attach the heat sink to the base of the pump.  Assembly only takes a few minutes and does not require opening the pump.  The thermal pad doesn’t even have to stick to the pump as the bottom.  Blue side facing up is not sticky, white side down sticks to the heat-sink.

Assembly is very straight forward and simple.  Not shown, but the thermal pad has a blue side which faces up (Non sticky) and a white side that is stuck to the heat sink.

This is what the heat sink looks like mounted to a MCP-35B pump without any fan installed.  This wasn’t the pump I tested on since it was only a 12W motor (less heat than 18W motors), but it’s a nice looking top which compliments the heat sink black theme and represents what the heat sink would look like on either the MCP-35B or the MCP-35X pumps with black delrin/acetal tops.

 There is a bit of extra space down below without a fan installed, but this also helps allow a nice amount of case airflow to whisk away the heat better.  Also notice how the rubber feet serve in decoupling the entire unit.

Pages: 1 2

Comments
  1. PunkNugget says:

    When you have a moment, (unless you’ve already done it), can you do a review of the Koolance DDC Heatsink, so we have something to compare the Swiftech and Koolance product too. Thanks again Martin for all your hard work. You make it easy for someone like myself to know what (or what not to) purchase for PC parts. Again, thanks !!! 🙂

    Here’s the product link for the Heat Sink for PMP-400 Pump – (Model #HTS-PMP400)
    https://www.koolance.com/water-cooling/product_info.php?product_id=1058

    I did my own personal test (actually I wasn’t wanting to test it, I was actually wanting to USE it), and I have to say I’m very disappointed in this product. The only reason why was because of the “Trimmed Thermal Pad” that is supposed to transfer heat from the heat of the motor to the heat sink. Well, it actually became an INSULATOR of heat. This was my experience. But please go here to read the details as to why (and the solution to the problem):

    http://www.overclock.net/water-cooling/934512-martins-koolance-rp-402×2-rp-452×2-13.html

    All you have to do is go to: permalink #123 and read my comment and pics to fully understand why I’m saying this.

  2. PunkNugget says:

    Lastly, I’m glad this product is working. Now all they need is a tiny (cute) fan to blow cool air up underneath it to keep it even cooler. They probably already have one… 😀

  3. Jed says:

    ^ I too would love to know if swiftech’s heatsink does a better job than koolance’s heatsink for the DDC series of pumps.
    That’s if you feel like doing another review of something as simplistic as this… it might bore you!? 🙂
    Thanks for the wonderful work once again Martin, I’d be lost in this new world if it weren’t for you!!

  4. Martinm210 says:

    Thanks guys!

    I’d like to try that one too, but it’s going to have to wait a while. I’ve got about 5 or so items in the que which is more than I like. After I get all caught up, I’ll see where my interest is at. I am saving the pump motor all setup with these sensors though, so future comparative testing should not be a problem..:)

    • Jed says:

      ^
      No worries mate, once you get through the back log, & only if the interest is there by that stage!

      Take-care,
      Jed

  5. Akira028 says:

    What about including a noise comparison between bare pum on metal, fully decoupled pump, and the pump with the heatsink and the rubber feet?
    Do the rubber feet do a good job?

    • Martinm210 says:

      Good question, this was before I got he Heatsink so I never tested those. I think they help some but not nearly as good as the foam or softer material.

  6. Squashie says:

    Instead of heatsinks, someone should make a waterblock for it 😛

  7. ATMINSIDE says:

    Hey Martin, I was wondering what the total height with a 35X, res, and heatsink with legs is. I can’t find it online anywhere.

    Thanks!

    • Martinm210 says:

      Not sure, I think I may still have this setup in my parts bin somewhere, but it’s buried deep in a tub I don’t have easy access to. Maybe try emailing swiftech directly?

      • ATMINSIDE says:

        I actually got an answer on OCN, the legs are 43mm long.
        Nobody ever replied on Swiftech’s forum, but I didn’t think about just emailing their support for some reason

        So I used 45mm for that, and added 140mm (Swiftech’s drawing for pump and res combo) to get 185mm together.

        Thanks for the reply though!